- There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar for 2V0-16.25
- What a 135-Minute Appointment Actually Holds
- Test Center or OnVUE: Choosing Where Your Date Happens
- Booking Mechanics: Pearson VUE, Fee and Rescheduling
- Planning Backward From Your Target Date
- Retake Wait and the Three-Year Validity Clock
- Verifying Dates, Language Options and Policy Changes
- Frequently Asked Questions
- 2V0-16.25 is delivered through Pearson VUE on demand, so you pick your own appointment rather than waiting for a published window.
- The appointment is 135 minutes for 60 questions, with a scaled passing score of 300.
- The exam fee is USD 250, and a failed attempt carries a seven-day wait before you can retake.
- Certification validity is currently three years; earn or renew by passing the relevant exam.
There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar for 2V0-16.25
Candidates searching for "exam dates" often expect a list like a university term: a registration deadline, a testing window, a results date. That is not how the VMware vSphere Foundation 9.0 Administrator exam (2V0-16.25) works. The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, which means you choose an available appointment slot at a test center or through OnVUE online proctoring, and you can generally build your schedule around your own readiness.
That distinction matters for how you plan. Instead of asking "when is the exam offered in 2026?", the better questions are "when will I be ready?" and "which delivery format gives me the best shot on that day?" This article walks through the scheduling mechanics that are specific to this credential: the awarded title, the fee, the 135-minute appointment, the two delivery options, the seven-day retake wait, and the three-year validity period that determines when your credential needs attention again.
What a 135-Minute Appointment Actually Holds
Before you lock in a date, understand what you are booking. The exam guide specifies a 135-minute appointment. That figure includes time allowances for non-native English speakers, and the guide does not state a separate exam-only timer. In practical terms, treat 135 minutes as the full slot you reserve on your calendar, and avoid assuming that the question-answering portion is a different number.
The English exam contains 60 questions in a mix of multiple-choice and multiple-selection formats. The passing score is 300 on a scaled basis. Scaled scoring means the number you see is not a simple count of correct answers, so avoid converting it into a raw percentage. For a deeper explanation, read VCP-VVF Administrator Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
The English and Japanese languages are listed for this exam. If you plan to test in a language other than English, confirm availability and question counts on the official exam listing at the time you book, since the 60-question figure applies to the English exam.
Why the Time Window Shapes Your Booking Choice
Sixty questions in 135 minutes gives you a comfortable average per question, but multiple-selection items and scenario-style stems that describe a vSphere environment take longer to read than they do to answer. Pick an appointment time when you are mentally sharp for a full two-plus hours. If you are sharpest in the morning, avoid booking the late-afternoon slot just because it is the first one available.
Test Center or OnVUE: Choosing Where Your Date Happens
The exam is proctored either at a Pearson VUE test center or remotely through OnVUE. Your choice affects which dates and times are realistically open to you, so decide on format before you hunt for a slot.
| Factor | Test Center | OnVUE (Online) |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Travel to a Pearson VUE site | Your own room, subject to room requirements |
| Equipment | Provided by the center | Your computer must meet system requirements |
| Notes and books | Prohibited | Prohibited; the desk and room must be clear |
| Scheduling flexibility | Limited to site hours and seat availability | Often broader, but depends on slot availability |
| Main risk | Travel delays, limited local seats | Technical or room-compliance problems on exam day |
For OnVUE, books and notes are prohibited, and your testing environment must satisfy the system and room requirements published by Pearson VUE. Run the system check well before exam day, not on the morning of the exam. A webcam, microphone, stable connection and a clean workspace are not optional extras; a failed check can cost you the appointment.
Booking Mechanics: Pearson VUE, Fee and Rescheduling
Registration runs through Pearson VUE's Broadcom program page. The listed exam fee is USD 250. Taxes, regional pricing, vouchers or bundles may change what you actually pay at checkout, so treat USD 250 as the listed fee and confirm the final amount on the checkout screen. For the full financial picture, including retakes and preparation costs, see VCP-VVF Administrator Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
A Sensible Booking Sequence
- Confirm eligibility. There are no mandatory prerequisites, though the candidate profile recommends at least six months of experience with VVF or its components and one year in IT. Details are in VCP-VVF Administrator Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
- Check the exam guide. Read the current Broadcom exam guide for 2V0-16.25 so you know what the objectives cover.
- Choose delivery format. Decide between test center and OnVUE.
- Pick a date with buffer. Leave a few days of slack before the date for review and a system check, and some slack after it in case you need to retake.
- Read the reschedule and cancellation terms at checkout. Pearson VUE policies set the deadlines; do not rely on memory or a forum post.
Booking a date creates useful pressure, but only if the date is realistic. Booking too early and then rescheduling repeatedly wastes goodwill and may involve policy limits. Booking too late lets preparation drift.
Planning Backward From Your Target Date
Because there is no fixed calendar, the real scheduling work is working backward from your target date. The exam guide's testable content is concentrated in two sections, which this site presents as two domains. Understanding how they differ tells you how to allocate the weeks before your appointment.
Domain 1: VMware vSphere Foundation Fundamentals
This is the conceptual layer: what VVF is, what it includes, and how its components relate to each other. Expect questions that test whether you can place a component in the right role and explain what it does.
- The purpose and composition of VVF 9.0 as a platform
- How core components fit together in a vSphere environment
- Terminology that appears in scenario stems on the exam
Domain 2: Deploy, Configure, and Operate VMware vSphere Foundation (VVF)
This is the hands-on administration layer, and it is where most of your lab time belongs. Questions here describe a task or a problem and ask what you would do or what is going wrong.
- Deploying and configuring VVF components
- Day-to-day operations and administrative workflows
- Recognizing the right action for a described operational situation
The official guide treats the testable content as two objective headings, with the other template sections carrying no testable objectives. For a full breakdown, see VCP-VVF Administrator Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 2 Content Areas. The guide does not publish weightings for these two headings, so avoid assuming a percentage split when you plan your time.
A Compact Preparation Timeline
Here is one way to sequence the weeks before your booked date. Adjust the length to your experience; a seasoned vSphere administrator may compress it, while someone newer to VVF will want longer.
Fundamentals First
- Work through the Domain 1 material until you can explain each VVF component without notes
- Read the exam guide's objectives line by line and mark anything unfamiliar
Hands-On Deployment and Operations
- Spend most lab time on Domain 2 tasks: deploy, configure, operate
- Rehearse troubleshooting scenarios the way exam stems will describe them
Practice Under Exam Conditions
- Take timed practice sets sized to the real 60-question format
- Review every missed multiple-selection item to understand why partial answers fail
- Complete the OnVUE system check or confirm test-center directions
The study approach itself is covered in VCP-VVF Administrator Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. If you want realistic timed practice that mirrors the exam format, the practice tests on the main site are built for exactly that stage.
Key Takeaway
Do not book your date until you can sit through a full timed practice session and review it calmly. Readiness, not calendar availability, is the constraint. If you are unsure how demanding the exam will feel, read How Hard Is the VCP-VVF Administrator Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 before committing to a date.
Retake Wait and the Three-Year Validity Clock
Two time-based rules shape your scheduling beyond the first attempt.
The Seven-Day Retake Wait
If you do not pass, there is a seven-day wait before you can retake the exam. That is short enough that a retake is practical, but it is not a license to attempt the exam casually. Each attempt carries the listed fee, so a failed attempt is both a time and a cost event. Use the waiting period to review the score feedback, identify weak topics, and rebuild your plan rather than simply rebooking the next available slot.
If you are considering how likely a first-attempt pass is, avoid trusting unsourced figures floating around forums. The honest summary is covered in VCP-VVF Administrator Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Three-Year Validity and Renewal Timing
The certification is valid for three years, and you earn or renew it by passing the relevant exam. This reflects current Broadcom policy; older claims of no expiry or a two-year validity period are historical and have been superseded. Because the validity clock starts when you pass, the date you choose for your first attempt indirectly sets your renewal date. Note your pass date, and set a calendar reminder well before the three-year mark so renewal planning does not become a last-minute scramble.
Verifying Dates, Language Options and Policy Changes
Because exam-program details at Broadcom have shifted in recent years, make verification part of your scheduling routine. Check these sources in this order:
- The official exam listing for 2V0-16.25 on Broadcom's education site, to confirm the exam code, name and language availability.
- The VMware vSphere Foundation 9.0 Administrator Exam Guide (the version updated August 15, 2025 is the scope reference used here), to confirm the objectives and exam details.
- Pearson VUE's Broadcom page, to see current slot availability, pricing and delivery rules.
- The certification FAQ, to confirm validity, retake and renewal policy.
Any third-party site, including this one, should be treated as a guide to these sources, not a replacement. If something in this article conflicts with what the official pages show on the day you book, the official pages win.
Why the Exam Is Worth Scheduling Deliberately
Scheduling well is not just logistics; it is part of treating the credential as a career investment. Employers that run VMware-based infrastructure look for administrators who can deploy, configure and operate VVF, and the certification signals that capability. To weigh the payoff before you commit, see Is the VCP-VVF Administrator Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, and for role context see VCP-VVF Administrator Jobs.
Once your date is chosen, keep a one-page reference nearby for the final days; the VCP-VVF Administrator Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is designed for that last-week skim.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed calendar window is part of the published exam details. The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, so you select an available appointment at a test center or through OnVUE. Slot availability varies by location and time, so check the booking system for what is open.
Reserve the full 135-minute appointment specified in the exam guide. That figure includes time allowances for non-native English speakers, and the guide does not state a separate exam-only timer. The English exam has 60 questions.
There is a seven-day wait before a retake. Each attempt carries the exam fee, which is listed at USD 250, so use the wait to review weak areas before rebooking.
No. Books and notes are prohibited for OnVUE, and your system and room must meet Pearson VUE's requirements. Run the system check ahead of your appointment so a technical or room-compliance problem does not cost you the slot.
Current policy sets validity at three years, and you earn or renew by passing the relevant exam. Older references to no expiry or two-year validity are historical. Confirm the latest terms in Broadcom's certification FAQ, and see the exam dates overview for ongoing scheduling context.